Types of Glaucoma

Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma (POAG)

Open-angle glaucoma, the most common form of the disease, occurs when the eye’s drainage canals become clogged over time, resulting in increased eye pressure that causes damage to the eye’s optic nerve.

Normal Tension Glaucoma

Known also as low-tension glaucoma, characteristics of normal-tension glaucoma include progressive optic nerve as well as visual field loss, often with normal intraocular pressure. This type of glaucoma is thought to be associated, in part, to poor blood flow to the optic nerve.

Acute Glaucoma

Acute glaucoma does not come on slowly, over time, like primary open-angle glaucoma. In acute glaucoma, the pressure in the eyes increases suddenly; this can happen within hours and is often very painful.  An acute attack is an emergency situation because damage to the optic nerve may happen quickly and cause permanent vision damage.

Other types of glaucoma:

  • Angle-Closure Glaucoma
  • Pigmentary Glaucoma
  • Trauma-Related Glaucoma
  • Childhood Glaucoma
  • Neovascular Glaucoma
  • Pseudoexfoliative Glaucoma
  • Uveitic Glaucoma

Glaucoma can happen slowly; sometimes people are not aware that they have it until a significant amount of vision loss. Everyone is at risk for glaucoma and there may be no warning symptoms. Early detection and watchful, lifelong treatment can preserve vision in most people affected by glaucoma.

Learn more about treatment of glaucoma here, or…

Click to Book an Appointment Now